Wa Na Wari

911 24th Ave (Central District)
Seattle, WA 98122
Upcoming Events
It's called Wa Na Wari, which means "our home" in the Kalabari language of southern Nigeria where artist Inye Wokoma's father was born. The home has been in Wokoma's family for five generations. Assuming guardianship of the estate in 2016, he wanted to find a way to keep the house in the family "for perpetuity," in a historically black neighborhood that's increasingly gentrified, increasingly less black. Turning the house into a black arts space is the first step in that journey. Wa Na Wari—a collaborative project run by Wokoma and other artists including Elisheba Johnson, Rachel Kessler, and Jill Freidberg—opened in April. The team curates group shows of three to four black artists per month. (JASMYNE KEIMIG)
Features

On Demand Events at Wa Na Wari

We couldn't find any upcoming on demand events at this location.

Upcoming Scheduled Events at Wa Na Wari

Fri, Jan 15

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Jan 16

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Jan 17

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Jan 22

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Jan 23

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Jan 24

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Jan 29

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Jan 30

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Jan 31

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Feb 05

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Feb 06

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Feb 07

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Feb 12

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Feb 13

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Feb 14

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Feb 19

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Feb 20

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Feb 21

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Feb 26

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Feb 27

Wa Na Wari Group Show

Fri - Sun, through Feb 28
Central District
  • Free