Wa Na Wari

911 24th Ave (Central District)
Seattle, WA 98122
Upcoming Events
It's called Wa Na Wari, which means "our home" in the Kalabari language of southern Nigeria where artist Inye Wokoma's father was born. The home has been in Wokoma's family for five generations. Assuming guardianship of the estate in 2016, he wanted to find a way to keep the house in the family "for perpetuity," in a historically black neighborhood that's increasingly gentrified, increasingly less black. Turning the house into a black arts space is the first step in that journey. Wa Na Wari—a collaborative project run by Wokoma and other artists including Elisheba Johnson, Rachel Kessler, and Jill Freidberg—opened in April. The team curates group shows of three to four black artists per month. (JASMYNE KEIMIG)
Features

On Demand Events at Wa Na Wari

We couldn't find any upcoming on demand events at this location.

Upcoming Scheduled Events at Wa Na Wari

Sun, Sep 27

Arts at Wa Na Wari

Fri - Sun, through Sep 27
Central District

Sat, Oct 31

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Nov 01

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Mon, Nov 02

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Tue, Nov 03

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Wed, Nov 04

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Thu, Nov 05

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Nov 06

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Nov 07

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Nov 08

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Mon, Nov 09

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Tue, Nov 10

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Wed, Nov 11

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Thu, Nov 12

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Fri, Nov 13

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Sat, Nov 14

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Sun, Nov 15

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Mon, Nov 16

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Tue, Nov 17

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free

Wed, Nov 18

Story Porch: "Shaping the Past" in Seattle

Every day, from Oct 31 - Dec 31
Central District
  • Free