The Stranger

Dear readers,

Now more than ever, The Stranger depends on your support to help fund our coverage. Please consider supporting local, independent, progressive media with a one-time or recurring donation. Our staff is working morning, noon, and night to make your contributions count.

Thank you and we are truly grateful for your support.

Central Library

This business has special options available during the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Curbside Pickup
  • Takeout
"Patrons with holds at the Central Library will receive emails this week letting them know their holds are ready for pickup on the Library's Fourth Avenue plaza beginning Thursday, Aug. 6. Information on the process for picking up materials, including how to schedule an appointment for pickup, will be provided in the email. Patrons will have two weeks to pick up their holds."
1000 Fourth Ave (Central Business District)
Seattle, WA 98104
206-386-4636
website
Upcoming Events
The Central Library hosts a dizzying number of events at branches across the city, and every single one of them is absolutely free. They’ll help you figure out your new computer, do your taxes, learn a new language, play board games, discuss books, hear from authors, listen to concerts, watch movies, become a US citizen, entertain your children, take advantage of government programs, experiment with 3D printers, and much more. They have book clubs and reading groups aimed at a truly wide variety of specific audiences, from low-vision readers to babies. They also host programs in languages including Chinese, Vietnamese, Somali, and Spanish. And a few times a year, they offer the Seattle community the chance to attend free talks by famous touring authors. Even if there’s nothing up your alley in their schedule, the Central Library (downtown) is a bizarre and famous piece of architecture by Rem Koolhaas—you could easily spend hours exploring the building both inside and out. (Inside, there’s one section that makes you feel like you’re one of Miss Frizzle’s children shrunk down to microscopic size on the Magic School Bus, wandering through the tubes and tunnels of the human body.) (JULIA RABAN)
Categories
Hours
Monday-Saturday, 10am-6pm<br> Sunday, 12-6pm

Upcoming Events at Central Library

Tue, Aug 11

Wed, Aug 12

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Aug 18

Wed, Aug 19

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Mon, Aug 24

Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Aug 25

Wed, Aug 26

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Sep 01

Wed, Sep 02

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Mon, Sep 07

Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Sep 08

Wed, Sep 09

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Sep 15

Wed, Sep 16

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Mon, Sep 21

Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Sep 22

Wed, Sep 23

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Tue, Sep 29

Wed, Sep 30

ZAPP Zine Collection

Wed
11 am - 1 pm
Central Business District
  • Free

Mon, Oct 05

Central Business District
  • Free